Monday Mama Muse – “I think I’ll just start right away”

 
I don’t want to wait until Tuesday
or hold off for the the next full moon.
I don’t want to postpone until the end of the year,
or even wait for the clock to strike noon.

These things are so clever, all stand-ins for never,
their objective to pause and delay,
but I’ve seen them before and I now know the score,
so I think I’ll just start right away.

I just read this poem on Ken Robert’s fantastic website, MildlyCreative.com.    His website is a wonderfully inspiring and satisfying resource for people who crave to create, whether in words, art, music or whatever creative form calls to them. 

I’ve been thinking a lot recently about why we procrastinate, why we put off things that mean so very much to us, especially in relation to our creative talents and desires.    It seems to me that we waste so much energy in putting things off that we could instead invest in “just starting right away.” 

If there’s something that you’ve been yearning to do and yet continue to avoid, I highly recommend:

Ken Roberts’ Mildly Creative website;

Patti Digh’s 37days.com blog and especially her “How to write (a book).  A wee rant.”; and

Chris Guillebeau’s Art of Non-Conformity Blog and especially his post on Good Writing Tips.  He has written 1,000 words a day almost every day for the past 120 weeks.  Now, that’s a writer.  Not someone who merely talks about writing.  Which surely is a “talker” at best.

I’m going to be writing every day from this point on.  I’ll let you know how it goes. 

Care to join me?

2 thoughts on “Monday Mama Muse – “I think I’ll just start right away”

  1. Pingback: Monday Mama Muse: The Two Most Important Questions in the Universe « Stand Up, Mama!

Leave a Reply

