“Gently We Row” by Melissa Etheridge

I’m loving the May issue of “More” magazine which is always one of my favorite reads each month.  This month, it has a focus on mothers and daughters.

I love the review of Melissa Etheridge’s new album, Fearless Love, and especially the lyrics of the song “Gently We Row”:

“I wrapped my arms around my own daughter/As she fell into her place and time/And as her mind creates her illusions/I won’t complicate hers with mine.”

“It’s intensely personal,” Etheridge says of the song.  “It’s about my experiences with my mother and, as a mother, how I’m giving my children different tools to navigate this life.”

It sounds like it could be an anthem for Stand Up, Mama!

Leave a Reply

