Are you a “safe place” for your children?

I am in the middle of reading “The Element: How Finding Your Passion Changes Everything” by a fellow Brit, Sir Ken Robinson.  I am LOVING it!!!

One of the people Sir Ken profiles in this book is Arianna Huffington (her life story is fascinating).  Arianna makes this comment about her mother:

“I don’t think that anything I’ve done in my life would have been possible without my mother.  My mother gave me that safe place, that sense that she would be there no matter what happened, whether I succeeded or failed.  She gave me what I am hoping to be able to give my daughters, which is a sense that I could aim for the stars combined with the knowledge that if I didn’t reach them, she wouldn’t love me any less.  She helped me understand that failure was a part of any life.”

Is this something you experienced as a daughter?

As a mother, do you feel that you’re a safe playground for your children?  If not, do you see ways that you could bring this into your relationship with your children?  It’s something that, as a mother, I’m very conscious of providing for my children.  I’ll be starting a discussion about this very topic on my Facebook page in the next week or so.  Please click here if you would like to follow me on Facebook.

Click here to find out more about Sir Ken Robinson and his book.

Take care,

Sally

One thought on “Are you a “safe place” for your children?

  1. I’m so glad that you posted this. I strive to be that safe place for my kids to come to. I am very focused on instilling confidence in my daughter at the moment. I want her to believe that she could accomplish anything, and if she tries for something and it doesn’t go the way she’s planned, that is OK too. The important thing, is to have the strength and confidence in her own abilities to try in the first place. You fail when you’re too scared to try at all. This was something that was not instilled in me growing up and as a result, my confidence and self-esteem suffered. I feel that I’ve failed myself over the years by being too afraid to try things, thinking, oh no I could never possibly pull it off. I wonder how much more I could be right now, if I only I had more self-esteem growing up. I look forward to reading this book.

Leave a Reply

