Thrilled to announce my Master Coach certification!

MasterLifeCoachStamp815p

I love the following quote from “Alice in Wonderland” :

“Alice laughed: “There’s no use trying,” she said; “one can’t believe impossible things.” “I daresay you haven’t had much practice,” said the Queen. “When I was younger, I always did it for half an hour a day. Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.”

During the seven months of my Master Coach training with Martha Beck, I not only believed things that seemed impossible, I also did things that seemed truly impossible.

One assignment, “write a 1,000 word essay on a journey to hell and back you have taken in your own life”.  This essay will then be reviewed and critiqued by Martha Beck (who is one of my favorite writers).  My initial response to this, “Holy Sh*t!&*&*&*&!!!   And while I’m at it, I’ll  whisk up a souffle for Gordon Ramsay and play a cello concerto for Yo Yo Ma.”

And yet, I did it, and I did it pretty damn well as it turned out.  Turned out we were a group of amazing writers.  Just sayin’. 

The final part of the training was a four day onsite intensive training in Huntington Beach at the beginning of  August.  This involved many rings of fire for us to jump through including coaching in front of Martha (with many unknown distractions thrown in for good measure), doing improv comedy in front of Martha (which I found challenging because that was something I “should” be good at).  Oh, and then, put yourself in a ring with a  horse who, having been abused by humans in the past, had very little reason to like them.  That small detail wasn’t intentionally created as part of the training.  It just so happened that the horses assigned to us had been saved from abysmal living conditions and slaughter by a wonderful stable.  It was an absolute honor and privilege to work with these amazing animals and there was a great deal of mutual healing in the process. 

So, during the past seven months, I have believed and done things that would have seemed absolutely impossible prior to the training.  As a result, I feel AMAZING!!!

I am so thrilled and truly satisfied to have become a part of the tribe of Martha Beck Master Coaches.  An extraordinary group of women who continue to challenge me to keep thinking at least six impossible things before breakfast each day.

To the wonderful group of women I trained with I want to say a heartfelt thank you and a huge I LOVE YOU!!!  You are my FAVORITES!!!!!  Getting to know each and every one of you made 2009 one of my very best years ever. 

At the final dinner of the onsite training, Martha Beck invited us to share what we plan to have done/be doing by August 2010.  The goals I’ve set to achieve by August 2010 are:

– to self-publish my first book by March 15, 2010 (my 42nd birthday);

– to finish writing my one-woman show and to have performed it at American and Canadian festivals.  My WIG (Wildy Improbable Goal) is to perform the show at the Edinburgh Festival in August 2010.  The working title of the show is “My British Fanny” – which won’t surprise friends who’ve seen my stand up show!

– to create an improv coaching workshop for middle school girls;

– to become a “horse whisperer” and to add this to my coaching practice – the work with the horses was just EXTRAORDINARY!   Thank you for this amazing experience, Koelle!

Watch this space.

Leave a Reply

