Carol Burnett – a trailblazer for funny women

My husband and I bumped into Carol Burnett near Lincoln Center in New York when my oldest daughter was just a baby.    She actually stopped to make conversation with us – commenting on how adorable our daughter was.  She was especially cute if I do say so myself.

As someone who grew up in England, I actually had NO idea who Carol Burnett was although I could sense that she was “someone” just by her sense of self and presence.  My husband brought me up to speed as we walked away.

Since then I’ve become a huge fan of her work.  She truly was a trailblazer for women in what is still a field dominated by men.  This clip is one of my favourite clips of her work.

Leave a Reply

