My sassy self

In my last post, I mentioned that my 7 year old sassy daughter is a great reminder for me to reconnect with my sassiness.

Three weeks ago, I enrolled in an Introduction to Improv class at the People’s Improv Theater in New York.  It’s a 3 hour class each Monday.  I left the first class on an absolute high.  It was sheer bliss.  I’ve never laughed so much with a group of complete and utter strangers.  It has become the highlight of my week.

In one of the exercises, we all had to come up with a description of ourselves that started with the same initial as our name  and to do a move that represented that description.  When it came to my turn, I asked if the description should be something we ARE or something we ASPIRE to be!  My choice was between Sensitive (blah!!) and Sassy (yay!!).  I went with Sassy Sally and my move was shaking my boobs!  It felt SO GOOD!!!

I’m going to be continue to the next level of the Improv classes as it is something that feels so damn good to me.  I’d always shyed away from Improv but I decided to face the fear and do it anyway.

I highly recommend it!  Once you’ve shaken your mammary maracas in a room full of strangers, there’s really not a great deal left to fear.

I just received a copy of Pam Slim’s hot-off-the-press book, “Escape from Cubicle Nation” (www.EscapeFromCubicleNation.com”).  Pam is my coach and I adore her.  I absolutely love her book and will be raving about it in future posts. 

In a section of the book about opening your creative floodgates, Pam recommends taking an improv class. 

She states:

“The basis of improvisation is reacting creatively to a situation with as little thinking as possible.  It is an excellent way to bring fun and spontaneity into your life and learn to act from impulse, not obligation.”

Mmm, sounds like great advice for mothers not just budding entrepreneurs.

When was the last time you acted from impulse?  My guess is that you acted from obligation much more recently.

If there is an improv class in your area, please try it and let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

